Skip to main content

Scam 'missed parcel' SMS messages: advice on avoiding malware

How to avoid malware sent using scam ‘missed parcel’ SMS messages, and what to do if your phone is already infected.

iStock.com/synthetick

Cyber criminals are tricking UK citizens into downloading malicious software (known as malware) by sending scam ‘missed parcel' SMS messages. Around the festive period, this type of cyber scam is even more prevalent, as many of us will be expecting deliveries.

The scam SMS messages contain links to what appear to be ‘official’ delivery/parcel-tracking apps, which you’re encouraged to install. But the ‘app’ is in fact a type of malware. If installed, this malware can steal your banking details, passwords, and other sensitive information.

The malware will also attempt to access your contact list, and send scam SMS messages to these numbers as well, helping the malware to spread across the world.

This guidance explains:

We also provide some more details about how this type of malware works.

Examples of scam websites and messages

Examples of scam websites and messages, which contain links to malware disguised as tracking apps. 

Note:

It’s important that you don’t back up your data before you perform a factory reset, as the backup will also contain the malware. For the same reason, when you’re given the option to restore backups, you should only do so if you’re confident that the backup was created before you installed the malware. If you can’t be sure, you should perform a factory reset and not restore any backups.

Performing a factory reset

On most phones, you can perform a ‘factory reset' on your phone by accessing the Settings. Refer to the device manufacturer’s website for specific details (it may be referred to as ‘Erase all content’). The reset will remove all your personal data from your device (including messages, contacts, photographs, browsing history, Wi-Fi codes, passwords, and any apps you've installed).

You may need to enter a password when you reset your device. If this is the case, make sure you change this password.

Updating your passwords

If you have logged into any accounts or apps since installing the malware, you must change the password for that account (as it may have been stolen). If you’ve used that same password for any other accounts, you also need to update those passwords (and make sure they are unique).


Alternatively, you can use the delivery company’s official app for tracking deliveries. Only download these from an official app store (such as Google Play, the Apple App Store, or the Samsung Galaxy Store).


To report a scam message:

  • 1

    Do not click the link in the message, and do not install any apps if prompted.

  • 2

    Forward the message to 7726, a free spam-reporting service provided by phone operators.

    There are instructions on how to do this on our ‘Report a scam text’ page.

  • 3

    Once reported, you can Delete the message.



Published

Reviewed

Version

3.0