NCSC-certified degrees

Created:  09 Aug 2017
Updated:  07 Feb 2019
About NCSC-certified Master’s and Bachelor's degrees in cyber security and closely related fields.

With so many UK universities offering degrees containing cyber security content, it can be difficult for students and employers alike to assess the quality on offer and to identify the degree that best suits someone’s preferred career path. NCSC-certified degrees help:

  • universities to attract high quality students from around the world
  • employers to recruit skilled staff and develop the cyber skills of existing employees
  • prospective students to make better informed choices when looking for a highly valued qualification

The 2019 call inviting applications for undergraduate degrees and, for the first time, degree apprenticeships to be certified is now open.

The Master’s degrees currently certified by the NCSC are:

Full certification​ ​
University of Birmingham MSc in Cyber Security*
Cranfield University​​ MSc in Digital Forensics
Edinburgh Napier University​

MSc in Advanced Security and Digital Forensics​* - available as full-time, part-time or part-time, distance learning 

Lancaster University​ MSc in Cyber Security
University of Oxford​ MSc in Software and Systems Security*
Royal Holloway, University of London​ MSc in Information Security
Royal Holloway, University of London, and the University of London International Academy​ MSc in Information Security — Distance Learning
Queen's University Belfast MSc Applied Cyber Security
University of Southampton MSc in Cyber Security
University of South Wales MSc in Computer Forensics*
University of Surrey MSc in Information Security​*
University College London MSc in Information Security*
University of Warwick​​ MSc in Cyber Security and Management*
University of York​​ MSc in Cyber Security*
*Certification is awarded to a specific pathway through the degree.


Provisional certification​ ​
Abertay University MSc Ethical Hacking and Cyber Security
University of Bradford MSc Cyber Security
Cranfield University MSc in Cyber Defence and Information Assurance​​
De Montfort University MSc Cyber Security
De Montfort University MSc Cyber Technology*
University of Kent MSc in Cyber Security
University of Kent MSc in Cyber Security with Industrial Placement
Kingston University MSc in Network and Information Security (Cyber Pathway)
Oxford Brookes University MSc Computer Science for Cyber Security
University of Warwick MSc in Cyber Security Engineering​
University of the West of England MSc Cyber Security
*Certification is awarded to a specific pathway through the degree.


The three Integrated Master's degrees currently provisionally certified by the NCSC are:

Provisional certification​ ​
Royal Holloway, University of London MSci in Computer Science (Information Security)
University of Southampton MEng in Computer Science with Cyber Security​
Imperial College London MEng Computing (Security and Reliability)​ (from September 2019)


The Bachelor’s degrees currently certified by the NCSC are:

Full Certification
Edinburgh Napier University BEng Cybersecurity and Forensics


Provisional Certification
Royal Holloway, University of London BSc Computer Science (Information Security)
University of Warwick BSc Cyber Security 


Universities wishing to apply for certification must submit an application which includes details of:
  • the academic team delivering the degree
  • the subject areas taught
  • the examinations used for assessment of students
  • how students undertake their original research dissertation
  • entry requirements for the degree
  • example dissertations**
  • student numbers**
  • grades achieved by students, and student feedback**

**Not required in applications for provisional certification.

The following institutions are expected to participate in the DCMS Cyber Security Postgraduate Bursaries Scheme. This scheme is intended to further help a broader range of adults retrain for a career in cyber security by taking an NCSC-certified cyber security Master’s degree.

For more information about how to apply, please contact participating institutions directly.  


  • Lancaster University
  • University College London (UCL)
  • Royal Holloway University
  • University of London International Academy and Royal Holloway
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • University of Southampton
  • Queen's University Belfast (QUB)
  • University of South Wales
  • University of Surrey
  • University of York
  • University of Warwick
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bradford
  • Kingston University
  • University of the West of England
  • Abertay University

For more information contact, or

Was this information helpful?

We need your feedback to improve this content.

Yes No