Certification bodies for IA professionals

Created:  05 Nov 2015
Updated:  01 Aug 2016
Explaining what NCSC-approved certification bodies mean for IA professionals.

Certification bodies

We have approved three certification bodies (CBs) to assess information assurance (IA) professionals against the competencies required to perform IA roles.

The three CBs are:

Each CB has:

  • considerable experience in assessing the competence of knowledge-based professionals
  • modified their core assessment processes to meet NCSC requirements
  • completed a trial phase of assessments prior to full operational capability

The CBs assess whether the evidence submitted by an applicant meets the requirements of the IA roles as defined and explained in the attached documents (see the Downloads tab for this page):

  • 'CESG Certification for IA Professionals'
  • 'Guidance to CESG Certification for IA Professionals'

Benefits of assessment

Independent assessments by these CBs will help government and industry recruit people with the right skills, at the right level, to the right job.

Information assurance professionals will benefit by having a clearly defined career development path and the opportunity to progress, as assessment stimulates growth in skills and experience.

CESG Certification for IA Professionals.pdf

PDF, 3209.43KB

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Guidance to CESG Certification for IA Professionals v2-1.pdf

PDF, 632.05KB

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.


Was this information helpful?

We need your feedback to improve this content.

Yes No